Chinese Collocations

I saw a Japanese publisher tweeted this English textbook: 英語はもっとコロケーションで話そう(Let’s Speak More English with Collocations). On the cover: ‘intense pain’, ‘throbbing pain’, ‘chronic pain’, ‘do business’, ‘establish business’, ‘discuss business’, ‘accept invitations’, ‘accept facts’, ‘accept challenges’, ‘finally decide’, ‘reluctantly decide’, ‘unanimously decide’, and so on.

I looked up the word ‘collocation’ on online English dictionary (Oxford Learner’s Dictionaries) and got this definition:

Collocation: a combination of words in a language, that happens very often and more frequently than would happen by chance.
‘Resounding success’ and ‘crying shame’ are English collocations.

A search on YouTube led me to this video: Collocations In English – Vocabulary Lesson.

From this video by BBC Learning English https://youtu.be/c49E-dLNkkE I got this tip for learning vocabulary:

Instead of learning individual new words, try learning small chunks of language. They will be easier to learn and they make your English sound a lot more natural.

learn small chunks

BBC Learning English on YouTube

I thought it was interesting and maybe I should apply it to my Chinese because my Chinese word book sometimes teaches usages for words like this: 裤子 [kùzi] (trousers) – 穿裤子 [chuān kùzi] (to wear trousers).

I also found this Japanese website to memorize a lot of Chinese collocations (with audio): http://www.ch-texts.org/contents_collocation.html

Chinese Collocations

Chinese Collocations (website in Japanese)

From now on, I will pay attention to memorizing Chinese words in ‘small chunks’.
I think it is true that it will build my confidence in speaking Chinese than just memorize Chinese words individually.
Even though, memorizing in small chunks is no small task either. 加油!###

4 thoughts on “Chinese Collocations

  1. I really like your language learning style. You’re not afraid to google useful things in the languages that you didn’t yet master. I guess it’s kind of safe, when you’re just starting with beginnings.

    I am studying Japanese and Italian and I like to google supplement stuff for Italian in Japanese, so I can learn a bit of Japanese, too. Sometimes I end up on Chinese websites. I use Italian – Japanese dictionary, too.
    But that way I get carried away with Japanese, when it’s time to learn Italian, duh. And in the end it takes more time.

    Thank for this blog! 谢谢/ ありがとう~

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you for the kind comment. Yes, it’s fun using all kind of resources in different languages. Time flies when you’re having fun. I know what you mean, sometimes I feel like I should learn Korean instead of Chinese but then I thought… who cares? I want to have fun, not torture myself with ‘should’s. Good luck with learning Italian and Japanese!

      Like

  2. You’re right, learning small chunks of language instead of single words is definitely the best practice. But as you were mentioning is no easy task so I always overlook it 😔

    Like

    • Yes, it’s like remembering the word and how to use it at the same time.

      I’m on adjectives and I find that most of the time my word book gives examples with ‘very’ (非常, 很). Like, busy 忙 → 很忙, tired 累 → 很累.

      Supposedly, we remember words more when we know they will be useful. Let’s try…

      Like

Leave a Reply

