The 3rd Week ✓

It’s week 4 day 1. I’ve learned 176 Chinese words.

I searched on Instagram and found many Japanese people were using the same Chinese wordbooks (in Japanese) that I’m using. Kikutan series is popular in Japan, I guess. Even though I don’t know these people, I feel like I’m not alone.

ㅤ ㅤ 0228 ㅤ 今日で2月も終わり〜😂 1ヶ月があっという間に終わりますね ㅤ 今日も1日バイトなので、 移動時間にせっせと キクタン。💿 ㅤ これがまた眠くなるんだよなぁ ㅤ でもがんばります! ㅤ 今日は本当は早起きして 勉強してからバイトって 思ってたのに、、、 ㅤ 忘れ物を発覚。 ㅤ 戻ってたら時間なくなっちゃいました😭 ㅤ 明日はお休みだから ちゃんと勉強します〜😂💪 #大学生の勉強垢 #大学生の勉強垢さんと繋がりたい #大学生 #勉強垢 #勉強垢さんと繋がりたい #勉強垢さんと仲良くなりたい #勉強垢サント仲良クナリタイ #トーイック #トイック #toeic #勉強垢はじめました #中国語 #中国語検定 #ロルバーン #中検 #ヨルグラ #studyaccount #studygram #キクタン #キクタン中国語

A post shared by n a c o (@__naaac) on

Even though, I am actually alone… learning Chinese in my bedroom… just for the sake of it. I’m not going to China, not using Chinese for work, no goals whatsoever. I read that it is wrong to learn a difficult language without any real goals. But here I am doing it. It’s a hobby, I will keep learning Chinese as long as I find it fun to do.

I own the e-book edition of Kikutan Chinese – introductory level, maybe I should get the paper copy for the next levels.

Roy Nishizawa, who wrote English textbooks for adults in Japan (because adults don’t learn a language the same way as children), actually said ‘don’t study’ because the key to language learning is to have fun and studying is not fun. But I like studying. But he is absolutely right that making studying an obligation actually makes you hate studying. I stop saying ‘I must study’ to myself and because of it, every day, I  feel like I want to sit down and study Mandarin from the Kikutan wordbook. And so every day, I memorize 8 words a day -and also 8 phrases/sentences given in the book-.

The Chinese words in the Kikutan word book are the ones tested on Chuuken/中国語検定 準4級 (Chinese Proficiency Test, Level pre-4) so when my husband went to Japan for work, I asked him to get me a textbook for the test. He went to Book Off (used book store) and bought me a ‘training book’, not ‘compilation of past tests’ as I requested. The book looked like new.

Title:中国語検定準4級トレーニングブック- with 2 CDs included

20170305_102148

中国語検定準4級トレーニングブック

I didn’t know the book existed. I’m glad he chose it because it seems really good. I can recommend this book, I think, even though I haven’t used it yet.

google-books

I bought a book. = 我买了一本书。

On Book Depository, I ordered a children’s novel about a Chinese girl and her family who were living under the oppressive rule of Chairman Mao in 1972: ‘Revolution is not a Dinner Party’ by Ying Chang Compestine. I expect it to arrive in April. Excerpt: https://books.google.co.id/books?id=P1nG8Ji35CQC&lpg=PP1&pg=PT3#v=onepage&q&f=false

chinese-grammar

Chinese grammar comparison with English and Japanese

And I watched a 20-minute lecture video about introduction to Chinese language in Japanese here: 似ているようで違う、でもどこかつながっている中国語と日本語http://yumenavi.info/lecture.aspx?GNKCD=g003831&OraSeq=62&ProId=WNA002&SerKbn=Z&SearchMod=2&Page=3&KeyWord=%E6%96%87%E6%B3%95

From the lecture video, for the time being, I assume that, other than the Verb+Object pattern, the word order in Chinese is actually more similar to Japanese and Korean than English (?). ###

Leave a Reply

