I Don’t Have To Study, I Want To

I am memorizing 8 words a day from a Chinese wordbook for the lowest level of Chuuken 中検 (a Chinese proficiency test in Japan) and today is week 2 day 6. I’ve learned 104 words. Maybe I should follow Chuuken curriculum for beginner level instead and set aside HSK for later. I can only take HSK in Indonesia, not Chuuken, but HSK can wait.

The English Doctor from Japan, Roy Nishizawa said on his podcast that even just thinking ‘I must study’ made you feel like English was not fun anymore. So every morning, whenever I think ‘I really should study’, I quickly reply to myself: ‘no, that’s not true’.  It works for me! Maybe because it takes the mental burden away and prevents studying to become an obligation. I wish I could apply it to ironing clothes. The problem is ironing clothes is neither interesting nor fun.

He also wrote:

「勉強」が終わったあとは、しばらく「勉強」はしたくないので、脳のスイッチをオフにしてしまいます。
(After you have finished ‘studying’, for some period of time, you feel like you don’t want to ‘study’ anymore, and it makes you switch-off your brain.)

Maybe that’s why I don’t feel like studying for TOPIK (Test of Proficiency in Korean) for a very long time now. I got tired the last time I did and the more I think that I should study for TOPIK, the more I feel reluctant to study Korean. I still don’t know how I can go back to studying for TOPIK.

Back to Chinese  for today, I learned how to say: color, red, black, white, yellow, blue, the sun, and the moon in Chinese. With sample sentences, but some sentences are too difficult for me.

I noticed that 颜色 ‘color’, 红色 ‘red’, 白色 ‘white’, 黄色 ‘yellow’, and 蓝色 ‘blue’, all share the same tones: no. 2 and no. 4. ‘Black’ 黑色 is no. 1 and no. 4, and I remember I learned 黑 from the song Cloudy Day (天黑黑).

I wondered whether Taeyang (a member of BIGBANG) is called ‘太阳’ (the sun) in Chinese and I googled and I found that I was right.

This sentence for ‘red’ 红色 hóngsè is hard for me:

那辆红色的汽车是谁的?
Nà liàng hóngsè de qìchē shì shuí de?
Whose red car is that?

lingoes

Chinese word book and Lingoes offline dictionary

It’s too long and I haven’t learned about measure words and I wonder why there is a measure word after 那 nà ‘that’.

Nishizawa-sensei writes in one of his books that it’s natural to forget things that you don’t really understand, and that too much confusion will kill your motivation.
I’m not going to let this confusion kills mine. Of course I don’t understand, I haven’t learned grammar yet. I will just forget this one for now.

Then I noticed that there is 蓝 ‘blue’ in this word 蓝牙 beside the Bluetooth mark on my tablet. So Bluetooth is 蓝牙 lányá in Chinese. I will never forget 蓝 ‘blue’ again because I use my tablet all the time. Chinese is useful if you set the language of your mobile device to Chinese. 😀

mindmap

Mindmap

I tried making a mindmap for 8 words I learned today using a free software called FreeMind (http://freemind.sourceforge.net/wiki/index.php/Main_Page). It took a long time for me to make this simple mindmap and I’m not really sure if it helps. Maybe I should read a book about mindmapping first to find out how to do it the right way. ###

 

Leave a Reply

