Something to Drink

Today is day 10.

Output is important to remember. This blog is my output.

From a commercial of ‘Rhythm Chinese’ on a Korean podcast:

너 정했니? Have you decided? = 你定了吗?Nǐ dìng le ma?

I had to look up on Naver Dictionary to find this 定 dìng (to decide). I thought the woman in the commercial said 听 tīng (to listen). Hard for me to tell the difference. But I think the rhythm (music on the background as she speaks) makes it easier for me to remember the tones.

When I was grocery shopping yesterday, in the supermarket, I heard a little girl screamed 奶奶 nǎinai (grandma) calling an old woman who was apparently her grandmother. I didn’t try to talk to them. I was just grinning to myself because I understood that one word. I didn’t hear the tone no.2 and neutral in her ‘奶奶’. Just sounded like a normal scream to me. ‘Grandma…!”Nainai…!’ How do you scream with tones anyway? But they could be Indonesians of Chinese origin who didn’t really care about tones. I don’t know.

My vocabulary book (with audio files) uses rhythm, too, but only for words, not sentences. These are 8 words for today:

  1. water = 水 shuǐ
    Easy because I learned the word fruit 水果 shuǐguǒ. Sounds like there’s a hidden ‘e’ and it’s actually shuei.
  2. soup = 汤 tāng
    Oh, like Korean soup ‘galbi-tang’ and ‘seolleong-tang’.
  3. alcoholic drink = 酒 jiǔ
    With hidden sound ‘o’, jiou?
  4. tea = 茶 chá
    The same as Japanese and Korean.
  5. black tea = 红茶 hóngchá
    Similar to Korean 홍차 [hong-cha].
  6. green tea 红茶 lǜchá
    Type: ‘l-v-c-h-a’.
  7. coffee = kāfēi 咖啡
    I saw this in a coffee shop in Shibuya, Tokyo. I remember I looked it up on my electronic dictionary because I was learning Japanese and I couldn’t read it. Usually they use katakana, not Chinese characters to write ‘coffee’ コーヒー [koohii].
  8. milk = 牛奶 niúnǎi
    Sounds like ‘niou’, with hidden ‘o’? 奶 nǎi I remember from grandmother 奶奶 nǎinai. So 牛 ‘cow’ is niú in Chinese.

From the sample sentences, I noticed the pattern 我喜欢喝… Wǒ xǐhuan hē … = I like drinking…

I like drinking black tea. = 我喜欢喝红茶。Wǒ xǐhuan hē hóngchá.
I like drinking green tea. = 我喜欢喝绿茶。Wǒ xǐhuan hē lǜchá.

These 2 sentences seem useful:

I can’t drink alcohol. = 我不会喝酒。Wǒ búhuì hē jiǔ.
Please have some tea. = 请喝茶。Qǐng hē chá.

不会 búhuì is can’t and 请 Qǐng is please. I learned these before, I think.

‘to drink soup’ = 喝汤 hē tāng

Does it mean you can’t use 吃汤 chī tāng?

I read this sentence and I wonder… do you always have to count things that you want?

I want a cup of hot milk. = 我要一杯热牛奶。Wǒ yào yìbēi rè niúnǎi.

And if hot milk is 热牛奶 rè niúnǎi then cold/iced cofee is 冷咖啡 lěng kāfēi? Maybe. ###

Leave a Reply

