5489 (Can’t Sleep), Khalil Fong

I can’t sleep.
How to say ‘I can’t sleep’ in Chinese? I’ll ask Naver Chinese-Korean Dictionary.

5489. Internet term.

5489

Naver Dictionary

Isn’t that interesting? But what’s the normal way to say ‘I can’t sleep’ in Chinese?

睡不着 [shuìbuzháo]

cant-sleep-in-chinese

Can’t sleep, from Naver Dictionary

Wait…
5 is wǔ
4 is sì
8 is bā
9 is jiǔ

I can’t sleep is 5489 [wǔ sì bā jiǔ] because it sounds like 我睡不着 [wǒ shuìbuzháo]? Am I right? That’s so funny!

Anyway… I’m into Khalil Fong (方大同) right now, so I’ve been listening to his songs all day long. I read fans’ comments comparing him to singers from Korea, such as Zion T and Crush. I actually don’t listen to the genre very often. I’m not familiar with Zion T or Crush’s voice. I know they’re awesome and very popular in Korea and abroad but… just not my cup of tea, I guess. I watched Zion T’s music video on YouTube and I thought that maybe he and his music sounded a little bit like Khalil Fong. But then… I know nothing about music.

Now… I’m going to announce my top three of Khalil Fong’s songs (yeah, like who cares?).

1. 放不過自己 Unforgivable → in simplified Chinese characters: 放不过自己

2. 聽 Listen → in simplified Chinese characters: 听

3. 無所謂 Que Sera feat. 張靚穎 Jane Zhang → in simplified Chinese characters: 无所谓

I looked up the meaning of his name, 大同, and according to Chinese – Japanese dictionary, it means ‘ideal or perfect society in which everybody is free and equal’. According to Chinese – English dictionary, it means ‘Datong or Great community in neo-Confucian philosophy, similar to New Jerusalem’. And I was wondering whether Khalil was taken from Khalil Gibran.

And… I watched this music video:
方大同 Khalil Fong – 復刻回憶 → in simplified Chinese characters: 复刻回忆 fùkè huíyì. I couldn’t find it in any dictionary but Google Translate says it means ‘engraved memories’. The melody sounded familiar and I was sure it was a remake version of a Japanese song, but I couldn’t remember what song it was. Then I saw the name Keisuke Kuwata(桑田佳祐) in the description box.

And I found it.

The original song is Manatsu No Kajitsu (真夏の果実), meaning ‘fruit of midsummer’ by Southern All Stars(サザンオールスターズ). Released in 1990.

Mystery solved. Good night. 晚安。###

Leave a Reply

