New Chinese Textbook: 7つのパターンでよくわかる中国語初級文法

I ordered this Japanese book from Neowing/CDJapan last week:
7つのパターンでよくわかる中国語初級文法 (7 Patterns to Really Understand Basic Chinese Grammar) written by  Hideo Enomoto, published by NHK Publishing.

It’s a grammar book so I think it’s fine that it doesn’t come with audio CD, and the price is 1500 yen which is cheap for a language textbook. The shipping fee with EMS from Japan to Indonesia was 1400 yen, though.

Neowing

7つのパターンでよくわかる中国語初級文法 榎本英雄

Preview pages are available on NHK出版 site: https://www.nhk-book.co.jp/detail/000000351312014.html

2016-09-02 2016-09-02 001 002

The front cover. Obviously I have zero photography skill. It’s actually bright orange.

According to this book, Chinese only has 7 basic sentence patterns, even the sentences that look very complex, and if you know all of them, you won’t be confused with word orders ever again.

2016-09-02 2016-09-02 001 001

The back cover. 7 sentence patterns in Chinese.

I bought it because I’m more interested in translating song lyrics than learning about practical conversations, and trying and failing to understand song lyrics makes me more and more curious about Chinese grammar.

I thought the book was supposed to be used like a grammar dictionary, but I was wrong. It was actually organized to be read from beginning to the end, chapter by chapter, like an ordinary Chinese language textbook.

It’s a book for beginners, with complete translation of the Chinese vocabulary and sentences. You can see a lot of boxes and fonts in different sizes and colors, to explain the structures, grammatical functions of words, etc.

2016-09-02 2016-09-02 001 003

Inside pages.

I think the grammar explanation is easy to understand.

Not only grammar explanation, I was surprised that there were even a mini conversation (using the pattern explained), vocabulary list, and  also exercises at the end of every STEP (sub-chapter), with answer keys.

2016-09-02 2016-09-02 001 004

Short conversation and exercises.

I have started using this book since… yesterday.
I’m reading about pattern I (sentence with adjective as its predicate). There are 7 STEPS (sub-chapters) to explain the variations of the pattern, today I read STEP 2 (or variation no. 2 of pattern I), and I have a question. 😀

The pattern:
[(Limiting word)+ 的 + Subject] + [(Situational word)+ Predicate/Adjective]
汉语 + 的 + 声调 + 特别 + 重要。
Chinese tones are very important.

And there’s another sentence from the chapter that I think really explains it for me.

我有点儿不舒服。
Wǒ yǒudiǎnr bú shūfú.
I feel a little unwell.

So now I understand that 有点儿 (a little) is a situational word (状況語) or a word that explains the adjective, so it comes before the predicate/adjective 不舒服.

But then…
when I saw the translation in Japanese: “learning about tones is very important” (声調の勉強は非常に重要ですね) I thought it should be 声调的学习非常重要。
I thought it should be like this
In Japanese: 声調の勉強 → 声调的学习, following the pattern [(Limiting word)+ 的 + Subject] but I was wrong.

学习声调非常重要。
Xuéxí shēngdiào fēicháng zhòngyào.
Learning about tones is very important.

😀 Why? It makes sense when it’s directly translated into English, though, so I’m not that confused. Maybe it’s a different sentence pattern? Anyway, it’s trivial.

I really like the book and I will continue studying with it tomorrow. ###

2 thoughts on “New Chinese Textbook: 7つのパターンでよくわかる中国語初級文法

  1. For the sentence that you are confused about, it’s helping to think of “learning tones” as a verb-object phrase, since 学习 is a verb. The sentence you made is more like “The study of tones is very important” which is more awkward-sounding than “learning tones is very important”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

