At a Snail’s Pace

I’ve just realized something: learning Chinese takes a very long time, or maybe I’m just learning Chinese very slowly. 😀

On August 25th, I downloaded HSK level 2 questions, thinking that I could learn new vocabulary from it in a day but in reality I could only manage to learn no. 36-40 of the reading section and I stopped there because I was tired.

HSK Level 2

HSK level 2

On August 26, I continued to no. 41-45. I got tired and stopped studying. Trying to understand new Chinese grammar from online dictionary only gave me headache. I thought that I needed to study with a textbook first before I study from HSK level 2 questions.

August 27-28, I got a fever from too much stress during the weekdays. 😀
I didn’t study but I watched UNIQ’s live chat on V app (they are the reason I’m learning Chinese).

V App

Hello, everyone, I’m Yibo.

Today, August 29, I returned to HSK level 1 preparation textbook,  and I tried to answer the questions of listening section of the mock test no.3. It wasn’t easy at all. Even though I thought I already knew all the vocabulary needed for level 1.

Understanding by reading is different from understanding by listening. For example,

小猫坐在椅子上。
Xiǎomāo zuò zài yǐzi shàng.
The kittens are sitting on a chair.

this sentence is easy to understand by reading or looking at the Chinese characters, but when I listened to it for the first time without checking the written sentence first, I couldn’t understand it. 😀

It’s not something new, I experienced it with Korean, too. So I think I’ll focus more in listening practices from now on. I want to understand what UNIQ’s members are saying when they speak to each other in Chinese.

OK, then. Good night. 晚安。###

Leave a Reply

