Chinese Words I Learned from My Tablet

I think it’s relatively painless to memorize Chinese words from a tablet or computer because I will see them every day and if I don’t remember, I can just look them up again.

The home screen of my tablet looks like this after I changed the language to Chinese (中文).

Screenshot_2016-08-10-05-34-19

My tablet

The days and date are in Chinese. I haven’t learned that yet from my textbook. But of course you can find anything on the internet, including how to say days and dates in Chinese.

This year is 2016.
今年二零一六年。
Jīnnián èrlíng yīliù nián.

Today is August 10th.
今天八月十号。
Jīntiān bāyuè shíhào.

Today is Wednesday.
今天星期三。
Jīntiān xīngqī sān.

And since the names of my apps are also translated into Chinese, I want to be able to read them, too so I looked them up on Google Translate and online Chinese dictionaries.

英中日会话
Yīng Zhōng Rì huìhuà
English – Chinese – Japanese conversations

多语言会话
duō yǔ yán huìhuà
multilingual conversations

电话
diànhuà
phone

词典
cídiǎn
dictionary

图书
túshū
books

计算机
jìsuànjī
calculator

时钟
shízhōng
clock

日历
rìlì
(Daily?) calendar. Because 月历 [yuè lì] is monthly calendar?

信息
xìnxī
message

照相机
zhàoxiàngjī
camera

视频
shìpín
video

电子邮件
diànzǐ yóujiàn
e-mail

音乐
yīnyuè
music

报亭
bàotíng
newsstand

语音搜索
yǔyīn sōusuǒ
voice search

相册
xiàngcè
photo album

商店
shāngdiàn
shop

设定
shèdìng
setting

I memorize the Chinese characters in those words one by one. I try to remember how it looks like, how to write it with the correct stroke order, the pinyin with the tones, and the meaning. I’m going to use the knowledge about each character again later to memorize other words so I don’t mind even though it’s a slow process. For example, I remember that 照  [zhào] in ‘camera’ 照相机 [zhào xiàng jī] from the word ‘passport’ 护照 [hùzhào] I learned yesterday.

I have a made up story about every Chinese character to help me remember the tone. For example, 报 bào, the meaning of the character is news/report, and it is tone no. 4 (falls down), because you have to be firm when you tell the news or the news is about the nuclear bomb that fell down and sounds like “bào!”. Something like that. Hopefully, after many repetitions, I won’t need the story anymore and I will instantly remember ‘bào’ when I see the character 报. ###

Leave a Reply

