Input and Output at the Same Time

In the morning, I watched this video in Korean about introduction to Chinese language for about 20 minutes.

And according to Anki, I studied 73 cards in 41 minutes today.

So yesterday I bought a Japanese audio book on FeBe about how to pass tests “the easy way” because the book was on sale, I bought it for 500 yen. The title is: ずるい暗記術 – 偏差値30から司法試験に一発合格できた勉強法 (sleazy memorization trick – how I passed the bar exam at one try even with low academic grades) by Yamato Sato (https://www.febe.jp/product/234256). It’s not a book about learning a foreign language but I got some ideas about how to learn Chinese on my own from it.

ずるい暗記術

Sleazy Memorization Technique

The author says that studying is input and exam is “the ultimate output”. About the input, he says to find what’s important for the exam by reading the answer keys first and read the textbook last. Usually, students read the textbook first, and then practice answering the test on their own, and read the answer keys of the test last. He says the common approach is not an efficient way to get high score on tests.

Many people say learning grammar is painful and boring, right? When I started learning Korean on my own 5 years ago, I wanted to learn from K-pop song lyrics because I was a K-pop fan. Because I knew what was important for me, I didn’t find learning about Korean grammar painful. The grammar dictionary was a very important source of information for me because I knew what I was looking for.

The author also says that you don’t need to take notes because it’s not an efficient way to retain information in your memory. (Yes!! I never take notes to learn Korean, either). The better way, the author says, is to write while recalling the information you have learned before (this is “output”). He suggest to read the answer first (as input), and use the test question to recall the answer (for output). And that you can do input and output at the same time.

I thought that it was a very good idea and I could do input and output at the same time, too. For example,  the input is information on my Anki card that a Chinese word for “summer holiday”, “shǔjià” 暑假. And then, for output (recalling information), as I think of the word “summer holiday” in my head, I can type the Chinese translation to a search box on an online Chinese dictionary or I can say the word to Google Search on my tablet and see whether I get the correct word from Google Search.

I did that, today. It was really fun. And I think it’s so much better than just staring at a Chinese word on Anki and hope I will remember it later. ###

One thought on “Input and Output at the Same Time

  1. Pingback: How to Memorize New Korean Words (2) | Korean Vitamin

Leave a Reply

