r化, Different Ways to Pronounce ‘e’, and the Hidden ‘e’/’o’

A blog visitor, Stephen, told me about how Chinese dictionaries usually don’t tell about tone changes. And a fellow blogger, Someday Korean, also told me that sometimes the tone change itself was not written as Pinyin. So I guess I have to figure it out by myself from language textbooks. Thank you for teaching me about this… stuff! 多谢您指教!←(I don’t even know how to read this).

Google Translate

Google Translate can teach me how to read Chinese.

I found a Chinese – Japanese online dictionary which showed the tone changes (http://dictionary.goo.ne.jp/cj/).

Goo Dictionary (Chinese - Japanese)

Because ‘bu4 + tone no.4’ becomes bu2, right?

Mmm… what did I learn today?

From lesson 7 that I didn’t finish yesterday, I learned about r化 (r…-ization?). So sometimes Chinese add -r to nouns like song, bag, flower, taste, and smell which makes the nouns sound ‘cute’ or ‘small’… And sometimes to verb or adjective, too.

If the sound before -r ends with -i, -n, the -i, -n is not pronounced.

-i + r
味儿 wè(i)r… so the pronunciation is wer, because -i is not pronunced… (But I had to type it ‘weier’ to get the right characters).

-n + r
玩儿 wá(n)r… the pronunciation sounds like war, because -n is not pronounced… (I had to type ‘waner’).

In case of -ng + -r, the vowel before -ng turns to nasal sound, and you curl your tongue at the end. Huh? What does it mean?

Example: 空儿 kò(ng)r
I can’t catch the actual sound… was it kòng… with a vague r?

Expression of the day (lesson 8)

怎么了?
Zěnme le?
What happened?

Lesson 8 was about 3 ways to pronounce “e” and the hidden “o” & “e” (not written, but it’s still pronounced). (I don’t even know where they came from, but now they hide themselves without clear reason why).

If a consonant comes before iou, uei, and uen, o and e in the middle is not written.

秋 q + iou is written as qiū
回 h + uéi becomes huí
论 l + uèn becomes lùn

The hidden o and e is especially clear for tone no. 3.
9 jiǔ (jioǔ)
腿 tuǐ (tueǐ)
准 zhǔn (zhǔen)

That’s all. Even as I type this, I hardly remember anything.😓

I changed my Chinese keyboard to Microsoft New Experience Input Style. It’s so much easier to use than Google Pinyin Input 2 because it’s in English. I don’t know why it keeps changing from half-width to full-width letters, though.😖 ###

5 thoughts on “r化, Different Ways to Pronounce ‘e’, and the Hidden ‘e’/’o’

  1. As for input methods, most people on the Mainland use the one from pinyin.sogou.com (including me).

    Do you like the sound of 儿化? I don’t, so I never use it. In fact, I gernerally don’t like how northerners speak. xD I’m glad I’m living in the south, even though 上海话 sounds even worse. 😉

    P.S. My Chinese is not that good. I will consider it good enough when it’s at the same level as my English. And getting good at English took long enough. Granted, I didn’t self-study, just went to school like everybody else in Germany. So I hope that with Chinese it will be faster.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for telling me about Sogou. The website is in Chinese, I will have more trouble than I had with Google Pinyin Input.
      I have no preference about -r, I still don’t know how or why to use it. I don’t know anything about Chinese dialects. My book only teaches me about the most standard one, I think. It must be fun to learn the language in China and be among the people who speak it.

      Like

  2. Don’t you watch any Chinese movies or TV shows? There you can here people with and without 儿化, so I thought you might know what I mean. xD

    Like

    • I tried to listen to Chinese podcast but still sound like gibberish to me because I don’t understand anything. I hope one day I can tell the difference. Like in 10 years or something. I will try to watch Chinese movies from now on. Thank you for the advice. 谢谢。

      Like

Leave a Reply

