Trying Out “Anki”

Expression for today:

Huānyíng.
欢迎。
Welcome.

Lesson 6 was about differentiating -n and -ng which might be a problem to Japanese native speakers but it’s not to me. “Huānyíng! Huānyíng!” is such a fun expression to say.

I decided I didn’t really like the Chinese audio on Quizlet (it’s just the same audio from Google TTS, I think?) so today I downloaded Anki (http://ankisrs.net/) but I already forgot how to use it. I watched tutorial videos on YouTube but they were very complicated. I didn’t have the patience to try all those steps. 😅

I think I will always delete all my flash cards after a week or so -because too many repeated cards will overwhelm me- so I don’t need them to be organized so carefully.  Maybe I’m not using Anki’s full potential but it doesn’t matter. I like it simple.

Some notes for my future self on how I set up my Anki for Chinese:

  • Tools – Add-ons – Browse & Install… – Awesome TTS

    Oddcast Anki

    I like audio from Oddcast.

  • Styling:
    .card {font-family: Microsoft YaHei;
    font-size: 40px;
    text-align: center;
    color: white;
    background-color: black;
    }

    Anki

    Styling

And this is how my card looks like:

My First Flash Card on Anki

My first card on Anki

This seems good enough for me. I’ll continue to lesson 7 using Anki tomorrow. ###

6 thoughts on “Trying Out “Anki”

  1. In the south of China there is often no difference between -n and -ng.
    Also c and ch are both c. 我吃饭。-> wo ci fan

    Most people in China still have an accent when speaking Putonghua or, especially when they are older or not as educated, don’t speak much Putonghua at all. I’m living in Shanghai and people from the Noth still give me trouble with all their 儿s and only pronouncing have of all words 😉

    Like

    • OK.😊 But it’s impossible to type Chinese without knowing the difference because I won’t get the right 汉字. It must be hard for you having to learn all kinds of Chinese dialects.

      Like

  2. I don’t learn dialects. But when different people speak 普通话 they still speak differently. 笑
    You can type without knowing the difference. The IME has options for that because so many people don’t make the difference; they can’t even hear it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for telling me about IME options. This “Fuzzy Pairs Setting”? This looks helpful. But I’m hesitated to change the settings because I’m new to the language, I think I need to remember the differences first. Thank you again. 谢谢。

      Like

  3. Yeah, of course you should learn it right. Just don’t expect the natives to have the same level of standard pronounciation as you. xD

    Like

Leave a Reply

