The First Week of Learning Chinese

I got fever and toothache at the same time so I couldn’t study, I just slept away my weekend. Today I continued to lesson 5, about more ‘curled tongue’ consonants: zh, ch, sh, r, and another type of consonants, the ‘tongue-and-tooth’ ones: z, c, s. I don’t know how to say the names properly in English.

I guess being able to tell the difference between aspirated and un-aspirated sounds is important. But I can’t do that yet. I don’t even remember which is which. Why zh and ch and z and c sound so much alike?

I found this on the internet, it looks useful: Chinese Pinyin Chart with Audio https://chinese.yabla.com/chinese-pinyin-chart.php

I tried Quizlet, but I don’t like that when I use Korean (meaning) for prompt, and Chinese pinyin for answer, I get Korean audio for the answer. I want the answer to be read in Chinese. Maybe I’ll try make new flash cards with ‘Chinese simplified’ on one side, and on the other side: ‘Pinyin (meaning in Korean)’. I’ll try tomorrow.

Quizlet

Quizlet

Expression for today:

请再说一遍。
Qǐng zài shuō yí biàn.
Please say it one more time.

请 qǐng means ‘please’. It’s OK not to use it.

再说一遍。
Zài shuō yí biàn.
Say it one more time.

At this point, I don’t think I will understand anything even if it’s said 100 times to me. But, OK.

The first week of learning Chinese, I don’t feel any sense of achievement because I only have vague memory about every sound, tone, and word I’m supposed to learn. ###

2 thoughts on “The First Week of Learning Chinese

  1. If I were you I wouldn’t stress too much about mastering all of the pronunciation rules right at the beginning but instead just reference the rules as you learn more and more words and phrases. That way you might become more adjusted to it naturally instead of trying to memorize all of the new sounds and how they differ from each other. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

