After Lesson 1? Lesson 2!

I guess Chinese pronunciation is far more complicated than I thought it would be. I looked at the chapter list of the textbook, it’s all about pronunciation until lesson 10. But it’s OK, I like that each lesson is short (15 minutes) so it’s possible to learn in the morning and listen to the audio again during the day.

Lesson 2 teaches 2 points:
1. 6 types of simple vowels: a, i, o, u, e, ü.

These two I find difficult:
e > say o but with your mouth as if you are going to say e
ü > say i but with your mouth as if you are going to say u

On its own, i is written as yi, u as wu, and ü as yu.
Oh… it’s that why the Chinese member of UNIQ, 이보 [i-bo]’s name is romanized as Yibo? 😁 ←Me, grinning, thinking how cute he is.

2. retroflex (‘curled tongue’) vowel: ‘er’.

That’s all.

The rest of the lesson is about listening practice, like… can you recognize these vowels when combined with one of the 4 tones? I had no problem because the listening practice only used one syllable.

It’s the combination of more than 1 syllable I’m worried about. But I believe time will fix everything as long as I don’t quit.

New expressions from lesson 2:

Xièxie.
谢谢。
Thank you.

Búkèqi.
不客气 。
You’re welcome.

The textbook says you can answer 谢谢 with:

Méi shìr.
没事儿
Think nothing of it.

I looked up on Naver dictionary and LINE dictionary for ‘méi shìr’ (by the way, I just found out it’s possible to use alphabets without tone marks to search on both dictionaries), but there’s no audio for it. The expression doesn’t even exist on LINE dictionary. Not a common expression?

You're welcome in Chinese

From NHK textbook. See? ‘Méi shìr’?

I found sample audio on Gogakuru website which is a part of NHK language course (in Japanese): http://gogakuru.com/chinese/phrase/30856

It's fine in Chinese

From Gogakuru’s website

By the way, yesterday I looked up ‘你早’ nǐzǎo (good morning) on online dictionaries and I couldn’t find it 😲, and nice people left comments that they had never heard of it. (Thank you! 谢谢!).

Good Morning in Chinese 3

No results for 你早.

Today I googled for the 3rd time and found some pages in English saying it was OK to use ‘nǐzǎo’ 你早 to say good morning.

So ‘你早’ nǐzǎo is acceptable, too.

Maybe Chinese is just a language that has many expressions. 😐 ###

10 thoughts on “After Lesson 1? Lesson 2!

    • Thank you for your explanation. When I typed with Google Pinyin, I was confused that I had to type it “meishier”, “meishir” won’t give me the right characters. I also think that maybe I need to cut the phrase when looking it up and I don’t know how. It’s a language full of mystery to me.

      Like

  1. I never heard anyone using 你早。It’s usually just 早!
    As for 没事儿, 儿化 ist mostly used in the north. Here in the south it’s 没事。Other examples: 玩儿 -> 玩 苹果儿 -> 苹果 and so on

    Also the words used for the same thing differ from region to region.
    In my textbook I learned 西红柿 for tomato, here it’s 番茄. 小勺子 or 勺儿 becomes 调羹。
    But I guess that’s the same in many languages.

    Like

Leave a Reply

